Press Release: Austin Regional Spelling Bee Announces Participants

Austin Regional Spelling Bee Announces 2019 Participants Download PDF

Contact Morgan Briscoe

Telephone (512) 551-0390 Cell (512) 413-6112



Austin Regional Spelling Bee Announces Participants

50 Area Students Scheduled to Compete

Austin, Texas, February 12, 2019–The West Austin Chamber of Commerce and Scripps National Spelling Bee have announced the final participants for the Austin Regional Spelling Bee to be held on Thursday, March 14th 2019 at Canyon Creek Church Theater.

50 students have advanced to the regional round including school spelling bee winners in a 10 county zone: Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Milam, Travis and Williamson.  The 50 advancing students were selected by their scores from an online spelling and vocabulary test administered by Scripps.

Austin Regional Spelling Bee participants and their corresponding school districts are outlined below.

This year’s judges event judges are: Kristi Lee-Nordin and Nihar Janga, Co-Champion of the 2016 Scripps National Spelling Bee. Karen Sullivent, 5th grade teacher at Buda Elementary (Hays ISD), will serve as the event Pronouncer. The event will also be streamed live online.

The Austin Regional Spelling Bee will crown one winner who will be receive an expense paid trip to the 2019 Scripps National Spelling Bee in Washington DC.  Austin residents and families will be able to watch this winner live on the ESPN event broadcast in May.

The Austin Regional Spelling Bee is open to the public.  Tickets are $12 (General Admission) and can be purchased online at:

Austin ISD (3)
Gorzycki Middle School—Satvik Raghunathan
Kealing Middle School—Pranathi Jammula
Kiker Elementary—Neha Raghunathan


Dripping Springs ISD (2)
Dripping Springs Elementary—Allen Kundukulangara
Sycamore Springs Middle School—Priyadarshini Chandrani

Eanes ISD (1)
West Ridge Middle School—Natalie Kozlowski

Hays CISD (3)
Elm Grove Elementary—Cooper Yanta
Elsa England Elementary—Neel Chaudhari
Eric Dahlstrom Middle Schol—Lauren Townsend

Lake Travis ISD (4)
Hudson Bend Middle—Srijan Jagarlamudi
Lake Travis Middle—Saba Salehi
Lakeway Elementary—Preston Toeller
West Cypress Hills Elementary—Lenya Mithun

Leander ISD (12)
Canyon Ridge Middle—Aarushi Boppidi
Cedar Park Middle—Eshan Bharadwaj
Grandview Hills Elementary—Olivia Glubok
Laura Welch Bush Elementary—Ella Shahinian
Pleasant Hill Elementary—Abraham Ly
Reed Elementary School—Julianne Choe
River Place Elementary—Justin Weaver
Running Brushy Middle School—Rachel Poycattle
Rutledge Elementary—Laila Nahvi
Steiner Ranch Elementary—Mary Kate Liechty
Whitestone Elementary—Lars Sunde
William J Winkley Elementary—Caleb Livingston

Round Rock ISD (11)
Cactus Ranch Elementary—Akshainie Kamma
Cedar Valley Middle School—Gautham Sanil
Chisholm Trail Middle School-Krishna Grandhe
Fern Bluff Elementary—Ryan Crosby
Forest Creek Elementary—Caitlin Wong
Great Oaks Elementary—Kolbe Berend
Patsy Sommer Elementay—Mahi Junnare
Pearson Ranch Middle School—Anisha Aslesh
Pfc Robert P Hernandez Middle School—Adrin Acuna
Spicewood Elementary—Anoushka Basu
Walsh Middle School—Audrey Bolyard

Private, Charter or Homeschool Association (13)
Austin Peace Academy—Zuhayr Khondker
Brentwood Christian School—Michael Kolagni
Challenger School Avery Ranch—Ravi Shah
Founders Classical Academy Leander—Sarah Adams
Harmony School of Political Science and Communication—Tarini Nandakumar
Harmony Science Academy—Nazryn Hatchett
Hill Country Christian School of Austin—Gabriella Vilcek
Holy Family Homeschoolers—Christopher Gugleta
KIPP Austin Vista Middle Schools—Luis Hernandez
Kirby Hall School—Ethan Haeri
Meridian World School—Jesse Schauble
One Day Academy—Kate Franques
The Magellan International School—Pranav Nandakumar
Trinity Episcopal School—Olivia Brown